The Commitment

Joel met me at church on Tuesday for my counseling session with Pastor Bent.  (I savor the irony of that name…)

It was a life-changing event for me.  All these months (no, at least a year) of indecision, fear, and being bound are, possibly coming to an end.  I ‘ve felt like Jonah, running his ass away from Nineveh.  But there’s no excuse anymore, and with Joel’s help and affirmation, I’m going to start attending a program at Mars Hill with the idea of eventually offering counseling to the men who are dealing with gay acting out.   There are two courses of recovery programs at Mars Hill: one of them, starting this fall, is already full.  That’s the one for men who have the same-sex attractions, but have not yet acted out.  The other program is for men who are sexually addicted and/or acting out and trying to come off that addiction.  That’s the one I’m going to be part of.

Bent also gave his blessing for my eventual plan to attend a local Living Waters class at Eastside Foursquare Church.  I want more training in counseling and I think the Living Waters program training would be good for me.  The training track involves a somewhat shortened version of the regular track, and I’m willing to take that training and bring what I’ve learned back to Mars Hill.  The additional time and energy commitments are going to be enormous (Thursday nights at Church, Friday nights at Eastside), and that involves significant amounts of Metro travel, something I try to scrupulously avoid.  But nothing comes without investment, and this is where I think I’m to invest.

So pray for me, would ya?  Here I go…

~ by WriterRand on August 31, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
