This Made You Gay

Soybeans.  Seriously.  @!#!@?! soybeans.

Read this:  http://www.wnd.com/news/article.asp?ARTICLE_ID=53327

I don’t know if this is the stupidest thing that I have ever heard from the mouth (or screen) of someone under the banner of religious commentary, but it is incredibly close.  (I want to sit the man down and say, “Yeah, soy pumps the male body full of estrogen and turns men gay.  Too many gay men and the population will decrease.  Like in China.”)

But I wonder if it’s not also somewhat instructive as to how people who claim Jesus sometimes think.  They don’t know what’s causing the increase in homosexuality, but it has to be something!  It seems typical of the people who think that homosexuality is a choice for gay people to the point where they can turn it on and off at will.  These men who are having sex with other men must have had some devil thing affecting them.  (It certainly can’t be a wound inflicted by a good, loving Christian father!)  With commentary like this, is it any wonder that Christian men have difficulty being open about their same sex desires?  This ignorance, in combination with the already dire reputation that anti-gay ministries have, stands in the way of men being able to find help.

So what’s the cure?  I think some of it has to do with responding with loving, but instructive, emails, letters, cards, whatever to people who make insane commentary like this one.  But it also behooves those of us who have and continue to deal with our same sex issues to be strong.  To stand up and be counted for the cause of Christ.  Because that’s what this is: reflecting God’s glory, showing the world around us that it’s possible to find help and healing for this issue and in the process, reveal the processes that God uses to change men by making them more like His image.

Let me know if you write this goober.  I’ll edit this with an update with some of the better notes.

~ by WriterRand on December 13, 2006.

3 Responses to “This Made You Gay”

  1. Thanks for the laugh!

    I don’t even know where to begin with a response. This is something that I’d expect to read in The Onion.

  2. I have such strong inclinations. Actually I am so gay. I am so so gay. I did get married and stil am married. We had two children and they are both married and have beautiful children of their own.
    Back to me, I love to look at naked men and would give so much to lay with one all night in a tent or camper. I think my gadar is getting sharper but how can i know?
    I love my wife so much and would never want to hurt her.
    I suppose that last statement will generate a few judgemental responses.
    Mark039

  3. Hi, Mark!

    Judgmental responses? Not from me, you won’t. C.S. Lewis once said, “God himself does not presume to judge a man until he dies. Why should [I]?”

    I guess the first question I want to ask is if you have a relationship going with Jesus. That’s sorta the key for everything else.

    Second: I know the feeling, the insatiable longing to be next to a man. Do you have an idea of what that man looks like? Can you tell me about him? Who that man is and what he looks like and what he’ll do with/for you is also so informative.

    Man, I wish you peace. I will be praying for you, that God will begin a good work in you and help you with that desire, that you might see it for what it truly is and find freedom and joy in your wife that you’ve never known before.

    God bless.

Leave a Reply

 
