“Donnie Davies” or a Parody of Bad Ex-Gay Ministries?

This is the website that had everyone’s attention:  http://www.lovegodsway.org/.  Pretty nauseating, isn’t it? 

Chill, boys and girls.  It’s a parody.

Evidence:

Exhibit A:  C.H.O.P.S.

Changing Homosexuals into Ordinary Persons?

If it isn’t satire, it should be.

Exhibit B:  The Lyrics

These are the lyrics to the song on “Donnie’s” website:

The Bible Says God Hates a Fag

Tell me straight to fight temptation.
Lord, lead me into your salvation.
The Bible says as plain as day,
with a man you shall not lay.

Lord you are my strength.
Fill me with your love.
Help me fight these feelings,
help me rise above.

Lord help them hear me and make clear my voice,
‘cuz being gay is nothing but a choice.

God hates a fag.
God hates a fag.
God hates a fag.
If you’re a fag he hates you too.

Read the Bible and you’ll be sure
to enter Heaven, there’s no back door.
Righteous man, get on your knees.
There lies no virtue in sodomy.

Lord you are my shield.
Sustain me through the fight,
a shelter from the urges
and help me see the light.

You filthy sinners should just let me be,
cuz Jesus, my Savior’s, the only man for me.

God hates a fag.
God hates a fag, yes he does!
God hates a fag.
If you’re a fag he hates you too.

Lord you are my strength.
Fill me with your love.
Help me fight these feelings.
Help me rise above.

Lord help them hear me and make clear my voice,
‘cuz being gay is nothing but a choice.

God hates a fag
God hates a fags
God hates a fags
If you’re a fag he hates you too.
He hates, he hates you too!

“God hates a fag…if you’re a fag, He hates you too.”  That’ll bring ’em in.  It’s like Fred Phelps on mescaline.  You take the stunning hatred of Fred Phelps, bond it to a hideous pop tune and a bad home music video.  Voila.

Exhibit C: The Music Video

Warning:  watch this on an empty stomach!

Video:  God Hates a Fag

Exhibit D:  Joe.My.God. Does The Sleuth Work

Here’s his page:  http://joemygod.blogspot.com/2007/01/davies-exposed-as-actor-joel-oglesby.html.

If this isn’t him, then that old saying about everyone on this earth having an exact twin might have something to it.

Exhibit E:  Joel’s MySpace Page

http://www.myspace.com/joeyindallas

Exhibit F:  chopsthemovie.com Is a Reserved Domain Name

Somebody’s planning something…why wouldn’t it just be part of Donnie’s Ministry’s website?  Not unless someone’s waiting for the viral video to hit even bigger…

Which Leads Me to This Thought After the Fold:

The Ex-Gay ministry, as a whole, suffers from a case of severe seriousness.  It’s TIME we had somebody poke us with a stick to get us to laugh.  That it’s being seen as real by people who don’t know better speaks volumes about how the ministry is seen in the first place.  I like the fact that a Christian actor/comedian has the smarts and the talent to give Ex-Gay ministries who engage in such barely-disguised passive-aggressive hatred towards gays a swift kick in the pants.  Good for him.

But.

Look, this ministry gets it in the shorts from both gays and Christians, sometimes in pretty intense ways.  While the gays think change is impossible and the Christians think that if we are changed we’re doomed to a life of celibacy, it takes a great deal of fortitude and thick skin to keep a man or woman searching for God’s healing of their identity.  There is a vicious hunger that drives us to find God in the middle of all of this.  When so many other people (liberal and conservative web sites alike) think this stuff is serious, it doesn’t do what satire is supposed to do.  They don’t laugh with us, they laugh at us.  And sometimes they don’t laugh at all, but chalk it up to yet another stereotype.  Later, comparisons will be made between Donnie Davies and the next whacknut with a new way to give a gay man an instant re-orientation.  And God ends up looking more the buffoon in the process.

Not saying we don’t need to laugh at ourselves.  It’d just be nice to not add to an already heavy roster of incompetence and shame.

~ by WriterRand on January 31, 2007.

3 Responses to ““Donnie Davies” or a Parody of Bad Ex-Gay Ministries?”

  1. I greatly appreciate your words:”it takes a great deal of fortitude and thick skin to keep a man or woman searching for God’s healing of their identity. There is a vicious hunger that drives us to find God in the middle of all of this…”. That describes it.

    Here is another way to think about it. God and His ways are actually so good and so full of intense joy that we can gladly endure all the pain, criticism, and other obstacles on the path to Him. He is so worth it!

    When we demonstrate by our lives that God is worth more than anything else, non-believers will be affected by it and listen much more closely to the message we speak.

  2. I find it tragically amusing that so many gay bloggers have vouched for the authenticity of “Love God’s Way,” indicating that they’re only aware of the sensationalized descriptions of ex-gay ministries. Some have even gone so far as to condemn the video as Christian bigotry, without the slightest inclination that they’ve been had.

    When I first saw the video I burst out laughing. They couldn’t have made it any more obvious that it is a satire; it’s too bad that is has been counterproductive as such.

  3. I gotta admit the video was a crowning touch. The sweet cherubic face with the folk guitar, the look of religious ecstasy singing “God hates a fag.” I laughed at first, but when I started reading other blogs that were taking him seriously and spreading it via their news aggregates, I wanted to punch him. It’s great satire, but perhaps a little too coy. I have to admit, I’m waiting to see what he does next and how he will point people to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

 
