“The Way of the Wild Heart”

John Elderidge’s latest book “The Way of the Wild Heart” is the sequel to his original book, coincidentally named “Wild at Heart.”  Wild at Heart was the beginning of my transformation and his book “Waking the Dead: The Glory of the Human Heart Fully Alive” helped with a major, deep restoration in my soul this last year.

From the back cover:

This is a Book About How a Boy — And a Man — Becomes a Man.

It’s a guide to the process of masculine initiation, that ancient path every boy and man must take if they would become the man they long to be.  The path whereby they come to know they are a man, and are able to live and love from a deep, centered strength.

We live in a time where most men (and boys) are essentially fatherless.  Whatever their circumstance, they have no man actually taking them through the man adventures, trials, battles and experiences they need to shape a masculine heart within them.  They find themselves on their own to figure life out, and that is a lonely place to be.  Their fears, anger, boredom, and their many addictions all come out of this fatherless place within them, a fundamental uncertainty in the core of their being.

But there is a way.

“We aren’t meant to figure life out on our own,” says John Elderdge.  “God wants to father us.”  In The Way of the Wild Heart, Eldredge relveals how God comes to a man and takes him on the masculine journey, how nearly all the events of a man’s life can come together ro provide the initiation he never received.  And how parents can offer that initiation to their sons.  Whatever your age may be,  your Father is ready to take up your jorney.  For you are his son.

I can’t think of another Christian author who hits an issue so deep to the center of the heart of a man who struggles with same-sex attractions.  If Wild at Heart was the identification of the need and a picture of a restored man and his journey, this sequel appears to be the road map to get there.

I’ll be back with a link and a review as soon as I’m done.  I can hardly wait.

~ by WriterRand on February 9, 2007.

3 Responses to ““The Way of the Wild Heart””

  1. One great example of fatherhood that has inspired me is the story of missionary John Paton’s father. I pray that we Christians can all be this kind of spiritual leader. Here is a link:

    http://www.desiringgod.org/ResourceLibrary/TasteAndSee/ByDate/2000/1150_John_G_Patons_Father/

  2. There is this misconception that those who are in ministry somehow are better parents than the rest of us poor mortals. I mean, they’re to minister to their families well and their children musn’t be out of control, right?

    Not so much. That a man believes in God doesn’t necessarily mean that he knows how to father his son, especially if he himself has not been fathered. I ran into this myself; I always saw (and, sadly, still sometimes do) my father as someone who is weak and not masculine much, therefore his faith is weak and ineffective. We kept Jesus at church every Sunday and pulled him out of a box when we needed Him, which wasn’t apparently often. (If it was, the need and the response from God was never shown to me.) I ran into the position, soon, of being so ashamed of my father and what he stood for, yet during church I’d feel both my need and my shame at how far fallen I was from God’s standards. I went into church feeling so different, so wrong, so strange. Soon that desire for masculine love began to present itself, and the closer to that need and that strong desire I drew, the stranger I felt.

    One of these days I’ll tell you how God intervened in my life. Himself. And how He spoke and left me a message I’ve never forgotten in the intervening 30 years.

  3. I appreciate your point that we don’t have to be in ministry to be a great parent. Paton’s father was not in ministry but his son descibed him praying: “hearing still the echoes of those cries to God, would hurl back all doubt with the victorious appeal, “He walked with God, why may not I?”

    I pray that God will help us father our children in a God-centered, masculine way even if we ourselves were not raised like that. Maybe some of these children will see thousands converted as Paton did!

Leave a Reply

 
