A Bit of Personal Good News

Three nights a week, young couples from church come over and help me walk around the apartment.  There’s a 6-8 foot stretch that we use for general wallking practice.  One person in the couplel walks behind me with the wheelchair for safety, and the other person (usually the stronger of the two)( extends their arm out for me to hang onto on the right hand side.  They’re in charge of balance and safety.

For the first time last night, I made a majority of those trips without having to hang onto or touch anyone on my right hand side in order to walk.  This is enormous, insane progress.  I can now balance an 8 foot trip entirely on my own.  I’m still too weak to walk much distance beyond that without some sort of assistance, but it is proof to me that with hard, hard work and sacrifice, I can and will get rid of this wheelchair.  I have joy today that I did not have yesterday.

Please continue to pray for enormous, unmeasurable success.  For God’s glory, not mine.

~ by WriterRand on May 14, 2007.

4 Responses to “A Bit of Personal Good News”

  1. Hey! Congratulations! God bless!
    My prayers are with you, bro!

  2. Congratualations! What an enormous blessing! God is so good!

    You said, “I have joy today that I did not have yesterday”. I imagine that is an extreme understatement. I can’t fully appreciate how much this means to you because I have not had any disability like that before. I have had only minor knee and ankle injuries in the past, but I remember the joy when I could take stairs again.

    I am praying.

  3. Hmm. I don’t mean to read too much into this, but do you see a spiritual analogy here? Something like…You won a major battle only after receiving help from God’s people. Hard work and sacrifice were absolutely essential, but so was the help of others. Maybe we should fight other battles that same way.

    I look forward to more great victories!

  4. All I can say is praise, brother! I’m new to your blog, I suppose, and I didn’t know you were in a wheelchair until this post. Is there another post that explains the situation in full? I am honored that you’re willing to share something so personal with us. God bless you, man.

Leave a Reply

 
