Your Contribution Needed: Resource Churches

We’re getting a few emails here and there from people who are struggling with the same sex attractions, and their own church is somewhat less than sufficient.  Cruel, actually. 

If you know of a church that has their theology straight on this issue and offers a loving environment for people who struggle with same sex attractions, I need to hear from you.  I’m putting together a list where I can refer people who write.  With everything in this world that works against them, people who decide to wrestle with their orientation need a strong, positive, loving home where they can be supported during the struggle.  I need names, addresses if possible, e-mail addressed and web pages, if appropriate.

Thanks folks.

~ by WriterRand on May 31, 2007.

4 Responses to “Your Contribution Needed: Resource Churches”

  1. Well, as far as I know, most of the Vineyard Churches where Living Waters programmes are being run, are per-definition the kind of churches you are seeking for. I don’t know in which country you are, but normally the Vineyards have this international site: http://www.vineyard.org/

    Blessings,

  2. My church has been a very helpful environment for me to deal with SSA. There is no separate program, but pastors have been an encouragement and I have never been mistreated there.

    There are some problems, though. They encourage a kind of “closeted” mentality. I was even told by a pastor not to mention my SSA to my men’s accountability group! My friends tell me I am very straight-acting and maybe that is why no one mistreats me, I don’t know.

  3. Mi Lucha: Thank you for the recommendation. I’ll put that up with everything else. It’s a good start to making this a resource that will get people involved.

    MR: That’s INSANE. Not TELL your accountability group? How do they expect you to be held accountable? (Speaking for myself, most of my hinkier crap happens in secret.) While I recommend finding a church that will give you a stronger resource is encouraged (see SSA list above) you’re also to be commended for obeying your church leadership.

  4. When I was told not to tell my accountability group about my SSA, there were individual guys that I already regularly talked to about these temptations. I was ok with that. I think the pastors did not want someone to start talking publicly and make this a churchwide issue.

Leave a Reply

 
