“Have you tried Hare Krishna?”

“Kermit, we’re lost.”
“Have you tried Hare Krishna?”
      –running gag, The Muppet Movie

I’m a bit…lost.  So I’m asking for prayer again.

I suppose there’s no rule that says everyone who is making it through the ex-gay path needs to go into ministry.  It can be a brutal, miserable path to walk, but if you truly feel that God is calling you to it, then there is nothing more fulfilling.

I suppose.  I’m stalled.  Again.

I found out last night that the purity group I’m supposed to be part of meets in the least accessible building amongst the various Mars Hill Church meeting places.  (This is the class I’ve been waiting for, for nearly a year.)  The other training I was looking for, through the Desert Stream Ministries, would have been through a local meeting in Kirkland.  That group is no more and there isn’t a meeting close enough to where I live to make it practical.  That’s two major desires for training that have disappeared.

James and I have been talking about turning this blog into more of an online resource for people who struggle with same-sex attractions, and to have materials available to everyone from the spouse wondering about his or her spouse and whether or not they’re dealing with SSA issues to pastors who are wondering how to handle this issue in their own churches.  Okay, yes.  Maybe.  I don’t know.  I want to do more.  I want to be with people more.

Added to this is a frustrating situation which prevents me from working anything but a full time position with benefits.  If I take a temp job (and a recent offer came up which would have been a bountiful provision, to put it mildly) it’s usually without benefits.  That would mean a break in coverage and if I am ever employed on a full-time basis, then my disability would be a pre-existing condition.  (You have to have continual coverage for 12 months prior to your employment to not have your pre-existing medical condition be considered as such.)  If you must be poverty-stricken to be in ministry, then baby I’m THERE!

Prayers for direction, provision and peace would be most appreciated.

~ by WriterRand on June 10, 2007.

2 Responses to ““Have you tried Hare Krishna?””

  1. Sorry you’re having troubles, brother. I hope things begin to look up for you. I’ll be praying for you in the meantime. Just hang in there. And I for one think it’s an excellant idea about the website. Good luck with that, and God bless.

  2. I will be praying.

    I don’t know about the insurance situation there, but where I live the biggest employers offer health insurance that even covers pre-existing conditions. If you just assumed that there is always a “pre-existing condition” clause in all health insurance policies, check again. Maybe you can find a potential employer without that problem.

Leave a Reply

 
