Wrestling

I don’t know how to describe today and the sermon I heard this morning, other than to say it feels…monumental.  One of those life-changing moments that will forever shape an attitude, a path, a destiny.  I know for certain that it will shape this ministry, but probably not as the person giving the sermon intended.

I truly believe that as men and women who wrestle with our sexual identities, we must do so with God as our help and everpresent strength.  God is not mocked; He is just and He is righteous.  There are those who concentrate so heavily on love that they dull the importance of confession and repentance, of obedience.

However…

It is also possible to preach on sin and repentance to the point where you remove hope and joy if you ignore God’s love or leave it as a five-minute filler at the end.  God’s love does not permit or tolerate sin, but neither does it condemn us without hope.  There is joy in the gospel and there is peace and security in that love, that love that is so easily miscategorized.  I don’t want to minister to anyone without remembering that hope and all the goodness and joy found therein.  I am a changed man today who, when he remembers that love and that power, can look at a man without lust or longing, only wanting the best for that man’s soul.  (Or most of the time, anyway.)  Considering the whore I was, that’s something.  That’s something to celebrate and hold fast to.  It is that hope and that joy that keeps me going, sometimes against all odds.  Not a bit of that love keeps me from remembering my sinful nature or my need to repent.  If anything, I run to pray, run to worship, and run to repent when I am encircled in that love.

God help the preacher who considers the Father’s intense love and joy for his children to be a distraction that keeps men from honesty and repentance.  If anything, that love keeps us upright and gives our feet wings when we run to meet Him.

I’m wrestling.  Details forthcoming.  Prayers, as always, appreciated.

~ by WriterRand on September 17, 2007.

2 Responses to “Wrestling”

  1. Hello, interestingly (to me 😛 ), I came across your blog while coming home from a series of sermons on homosexuality.

    Indeed the key verse in the message preached was:

    Or do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: neither the sexually immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor men who practice homosexuality, nor thieves, nor the greedy, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God. And such were some of you. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God [1 Cor. 6:9-11, ESV].

    God bless you

  2. Yuppers. That’s this blog’s key verse and if I could find a way to nail it up there, I would do just that.

    But thanks for posting it. I needed to see it again today and probably should memorize it as a constant reminder that in Him, I have peace in knowing that He is more than enough.

Leave a Reply

 
