Discussion Thread: If You Could Be Cured With a Pill, Would You Take It?

From Slate online magazine:

Some conservative Christian leaders are endorsing prenatal treatment to prevent homosexuality. Rev. Albert Mohler Jr., president of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, writes, “If a biological basis is found, and if a prenatal test is then developed, and if a successful treatment to reverse the sexual orientation to heterosexual is ever developed, we would support its use as we should unapologetically support the use of any appropriate means to avoid sexual temptation and the inevitable effects of sin.” In an AP interview, Mohler says this would be morally no different from curing fetal blindness or any other “medical problem.” A leading Catholic thinker agrees: “Same-sex activity is considered disordered. If there are ways of detecting diseases or disorders of children in the womb, and a way of treating them that respected the dignity of the child and mother, it would be a wonderful advancement of science.” Conservative reaction to Mohler: How dare you suggest homosexuality is biological. Gay reaction: How dare you say it’s still wrong even if it’s biological. Mohler’s clarifications: 1) I oppose genetic, as opposed to hormonal, intervention in the fetus. 2) I’m trying to head off something worse and more plausible: abortions of gay fetuses. (For Human Nature’s takes on prenatal treatment to prevent homosexuality, click here and here.)

Something tells me that there are Christian “leaders” who would not only endorse a “cure,” but push to make it mandatory.  But that’s just me being nervous any time people who claim to have never had a gay feeling or experience in their lives suddenly become experts on what gay people are really all about.

Yet, I had to ask myself and really consider for a while — it’s been a struggle.  If I could take a pill, make all those feelings vanish, wouldn’t that make it easier to keep from sinning?  Those lustful thoughts would no longer be a problem.

Except:

There’s no guarantee that a pill to remove a homosexual orientation would necessarily lead me to a heterosexual orientation.  And being sexless is more concerning than having to struggle with the sinful thoughts.

God is a God of process.  If I have to have a cross to bear, then this one will suit me just as well as another.  I have learned much in the battle; unlike some of my contemporaries, every single ounce of my masculinity has been hard-fought for and achieved at great cost.  In some ways, I find I’m at least more secure about my sexuality and my masculinity than many of my heterosexual brothers.

Man, there’s just so much.  The only thing I know is that this simple answer is anything but and would put more power into the hands of people who are the least qualified to have it.

Talk to me.  What do you think?  If the pill were available and your orientation would be cured, would you take it?

(And yes, to my critics, we understand.  You don’t see your orientation as a disorder in the first place.  This question is more for those who struggle with theirs.)

~ by WriterRand on January 4, 2008.

3 Responses to “Discussion Thread: If You Could Be Cured With a Pill, Would You Take It?”

  1. This is funny because I sort of asked this question when I first started my blog. I used the analogy of Morpheus asking Neo if he wants to take blue or the red pill in The Matrix as a metaphor. There is another way to answer this question, “If given the easy way, would you take a pill for instant sanctification?” If you think about it the idea itself is contrary to the nature of God who in His sovereign providence to use trials, tribulations and even our battle against sin to make us like His Son Jesus Christ. I also find it interesting that Jesus Himself was offered a “pill” of sorts, an easy way out, by Satan during the temptation in the dessert. What was Jesus’ response? He chose the to live by every Word that precedes out of the mouth of God and go to the cross instead.

    I think the thought underlying this question it the notion that SSA is caused by biological (prenatal) factors rather than social-development factors, particularly the early years of childhood growth. The question treats SSA as if it were asthma (which I wish I had an instant cure for!) which could potentially be “cured.”

    The only “cure” for homosexual temptations is Christian maturity – growing in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. It is about saying “yes” to the things of God and “no” to the flesh. It is about living totally dependent on the grace of God and His means for transforming lives. It is about dying to ourselves, humbling ourselves in the light of His Word so that that He may then change us and exalt us in due time.

    While I would not wish having homosexual temptations on anyone as the inner turmoil can at times be overwhelming, the times of loneliness can seem unbearable and the fear of being “outed” extreme – I have to confess that I would still be the arrogant S.O.B. that I was 7 months ago if I did not have to go through all this for the past 6 months.

    If this is what I must go through to learn what He would have for me and become more like Jesus Christ, then my answer to the easy way out is not “no” but rather “NO!”

  2. I think I’d agree with Rik. Although, it would be real tempting to take that pill. Thing is, not all things can, or perhaps “should”, be solved by taking a pill. I think that’s really what’s at the heart of this.

  3. It’s so funny to see people try something — ANYthing — to keep from changing the heart. Hey, let’s run for office and try to legislate people back to Jesus! Or let’s take a pill that would remove our fleshly temptations (food, sex) but not change what’s inside. (This is one reason I don’t get Huckabee — he left the pulpit to enter politics in order to reclaim this nation for Christ? Right message, wrong platform.)

    There are times I would certainly like to be able to turn off my lusts with a pill…but then again, trusting a pill instead of God’s plan for my heart…just seems like idolatry to me.

    Glad you guys agree. One of these days I’d like to add the ability to put polls on this blog. It’s be nice to see what people would say if they knew they were anonymous.

Leave a Reply

 
