Call for Prayer: Emmaus Road

It’s 15 minutes long.  I dare you to watch this dry-eyed.

http://www.streets.org/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=76

They need prayer.  God answers prayer.  So I call you to prayer.  For this ministry.  For the guys they will connect with.  For the needs they have.  For the men who are seeking to fill the Jesus-shaped void within them.

Then when you’re done praying for these men, let us know here by commenting.  What did you think of the video?  What do you think of the ministry?

I want to be part of this.  Badly.

It starts with prayer.

UPDATE:  I love you guys.  I genuinely do.  You guys have been keeping this post at the very top of the most popular posts.  And that includes the Lonnie Frisbee posts!  Please continue to pray for these guys and keep them in your prayers.  The work they do is pretty amazing.  It’s our honor to be able to pray for brothers and sisters on the front lines.

~ by WriterRand on March 31, 2008.

4 Responses to “Call for Prayer: Emmaus Road”

  1. I watched the video – “Wow.” I’m at a loss for words and I didn’t think that was possible.

  2. I can’t recall the last thing that God has placed this deeply, this heavily on my heart. I have a passion for what these guys are doing and infinite respect for their willingness to go out onto the front lines of the spiritual ground war, armed with Jesus and His love and compassion.

    I want this here in Seattle. I want it in San Fran.

  3. I prayed for those guys, too. I have never done that kind of ministry to prostitutes, but I certainly have reached out to drug addicts on the verge of such things. One thing I know about anyone in that situation is that it takes consistent displays of love over time to win their trust. They will NOT really listen to you until they trust you.

    What this means is that if I start working with people like this I need to be committed for the long run, possibly years. Seriously, wouldn’t that be a worthwhile thing to devote my life to? Didn’t Jesus Himself reach out to prostitutes and other social outcasts?

  4. Yes. Yes it is a worthy thing to invest yourself in. Yes, Jesus invested in people like this and I would imagine something just like this.

    So what are you going to do about it? 😉

Leave a Reply

 
