Off Topic: A Poem for the Upcoming Elections

my friend Jeremiah Lawson sent me the following piece.  I love this.

An election year sonnet
 
In all the steady hand of Providence
guides well except if, this election year,
the party I love lacks preeminence.
Then I will cry out with many a tear
“My God, my God, why did you forsake me!
The person I want in office has lost!
In your wrath have you forgotten mercy?
Have it on me and not the foolish host!
Did you break your promise to do my will
That was given `ere the day I was born?
Or did my requests lack a prayerful skill
that You listened not, and I am forlorn?
In all things Providence should only be
The stuff that should be convenient to me!”
~ by WriterRand on April 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
