Already, Hutch? Already?!

(Insert deep, heavy sigh here.)

You know, I don’t plan this blog. There are long stretches where I simply have nothing to say. I would get deeper into my personal issues, but right now there are so many OTHER issues in my life, that my struggles with Same Sex Attraction sometimes just doesn’t rate.

Then something like this comes along and all of a sudden this blog is planned out from now until next April.

Why? Because he’s at it again. Early, even. From the SnoValley Star:

At a May 8 school board meeting, the Rev. Ken Hutcherson vowed to continue to protest the Day of Silence in coming years if the Mount Si High School Gay Straight Alliance holds it during school hours.

In fact, Hutcherson, who led about 100 protestors during the annual event late last month, vowed an even larger presence in the future.

“As parents, next year, if you let this happen when school is happening, I’m going to have to organize well enough there will be no kids coming to school,” he said at the meeting.

Yet he claims the Day of Silence is too disruptive. The answer is keeping all the kids out of school? It only gets more ridiculous from there.

If this matter is truly about God, truly about his Son’s sacrifice and redemptive power, then the pride this pastor shows purposely keeps kids from experiencing that love and redemption. I came to Jesus again not because of a fear of hell — I was living in hell already — but because of the promise of a love that would never ever leave me. I was too long in a world where love was downright mercenary.

Well, no. Not this time, not again, not if I have a breath left in my body. No. Not again.

I’m going to start this early, I’m going to talk about it often, and I’m going to raise that voice everywhere I can think about it. This is not an issue that ends up being one more freaking political conflaguration by sides who reduce thinking, feeling people into conceptual footballs. No, no, no and one more time, no.

The only thing that cheers me up about this is that Warren Throckmorton is already on the case.  We’ll be revealing more here as it comes in.  (Next year’s Day of Silence is for 17 April 2009.)  In the meantime, review the Golden Rule Pledge.  Because you’ll be hearing a lot more about it, if you’re a regular reader here.  A lot more.

~ by WriterRand on May 16, 2008.

10 Responses to “Already, Hutch? Already?!”

  1. Hey!

    I stumbled upon your blog through WordPress. I’ve read most of your entries and am really encouraged by them. I, too, struggle with same-sex attractions. It’s tough, dude!

    I don’t know you, but I’m praying for you. God bless you in your battle, brother.

    -Steve

  2. Thanks, Steve. And welcome.

    I liked your blog too, especially the part about your aim being for holiness, not necessarily heterosexuality. Amen! And amen!

    Thanks for stopping by. Make yourself at home.

  3. Hey y’all, we need folks from Seattle to help out. Save the date for next April 17…

  4. Hey, Warren. I’m about an hour and a half from Seattle. What’s up, dude?

    -Steve

  5. Steve – see this website – http://www.goldenrulepledge.com and look again at the post above. I am looking for people who would like to pass out Golden Rule Pledge cards at the rally Hutcherson plans next year.

  6. Steve: I’m *in* Seattle. Can we count on you when it comes time to meet up at the next protest?

    And this goes for anyone else close to this area who wants to meet for this project. I want to get to the churches first, and some months in advance, so we can count on their prayerful support and let them know that we’d appreciate them joining us on the line.

  7. Hmm. I’ve never been a fan of protests. Those involved are basically protesting Hutcherson’s actions and participating in the Day of Silence, right? This is something I’d definitely want to pray about before giving you an answer, as far as involvement.

  8. To be clear, we are not protesting anything. What I want to do is have parents, kids and church folk pledging the Golden Rule and encouraging the protesters to consider this. I hope we have some kids in the school passing out the Golden Rule Cards too.

  9. Yeah, Dr. T’s right on this…this isn’t protesting the protests (I mean, where does THAT end?) but it’s a chance to just prayerfully suggest an alternative.

    In fact, I really don’t see the need to be there other than to observe and pray and be used as God sees fit. I think getting the message out to the churches ahead of time is far more valuable. We get the message out to the churches and to the youth there, we affect the schools.

  10. Okay. I understand now. So what would YOU like me to do? I guess I’m basically missing the main objective of this. What would you hope to accomplish by this?

Leave a Reply

 
