Narnia 2: Prince Caspian

I don’t want to sit here and go on and on about a movie that’s just hit the theatres as of last Friday, but did want to just post and give it my highest possible recommendation.

For me, the part of my soul that connects so wrongly to homosexuality is also the part that searches for…for it’s true self. To be the man I was originally created to be. (Peter’s voyage in this movie and the previous mirror my own in so many ways.)

I strongly believe that mythic stories help us connect to that pre-sin state, of knowing how things should be. Were once. And will be again when the King returns and claims his rightful throne. In my darker moods, I sometimes question why sin didn’t just ruin everything, why we were left with some sliver of light, with this aching unquenchable desire to have things set right again. We are driven by a soul-deep desire to return to a pre-fallen state, to commune with God once again, whether or not we’re truly aware of Him. That ache drives us to these battles, to war against that which we can never truly defeat without Asla—God’s help.

Seen it yet? Let us know what you thought.

Haven’t? There are two battles in this movie. Before the first–and I’m not giving anything away since it’s in the trailers–Peter’s battle cry is “For Narnia!”

There’s a second, bigger battle. Listen to THAT battle cry.

Because that’s what this movie is really all about.

~ by WriterRand on May 20, 2008.

One Response to “Narnia 2: Prince Caspian”

  1. I haven’t seen this movie yet, but I’m totally looking forward to seeing it. 🙂 This is a freaking awesome blog!

    -Steve

Leave a Reply

 
