Saddleback Civic Forum: Obama and McCain

Though I’m fairly politically active and aware, I’ve purposely not given that much space here.  Heated political rehtoric takes a back seat to heated theological opinion.

But today, from 5 to 7 p.m. PST, Pastor Rick Warren’s church, the Saddleback Church, is promoting their Civil Forum, featuring both Barack Obama and John McCain.

http://saddlebackcivilforum.com/index.html

I’d arrive early to make sure there’s enough server space for you to witness the live streaming.  I trust that Rick is going to ask tough questions (but no “gotcha” questions) about these men’s personal lives, integrity and world view.  I believe his genuine desire is to use this time to educate people about these men and their positions, something in dangerously short shrift in the media which seems to be focused on smears and attacks and lies everything but the real issues.

I’m impressed with the mission of Warren’s Civil Forum:

Although Rick Warren’s primary calling is to proclaim the Gospel Truth of salvation in Jesus Christ, he created the Civil Forums to further three additional life goals: helping people accept responsibility, helping the Church regain credibility, and encouraging our society to return to civility.

I don’t care where you stand on the political spectrum, you gotta hand it to the man for what he’s trying to accomplish.

~ by WriterRand on August 16, 2008.

One Response to “Saddleback Civic Forum: Obama and McCain”

  1. Hello !

    I’m new on this forum so I introduce me…

    My name is Jason I’m 20 years old, I’m Belgian.

    I like: Tennis and dogs…

    Nice to meet you

Leave a Reply

 
