Prisoner of Hope

My favorite band is Jars of Clay.  I thought of you when I heard this, for when the battle is so hard and heavy you want to just chuck it.  Know you are not alone, O Prisoner of Hope:

PRISONER OF HOPE

Stay close to me
In the shadow of my wing
In the shadow of my wing

Though the waters taste of poison
The wounds are all you feel
There is singing all around you
And the promises are real

Hide your face
Let the wind run out of breath
Let the wind run out of breath
Make you bleed from the heart
And ache from the mind
The saints are singing at your funerals
Strength for you to fight

Prisoner of hope, it won’t be long now
Prisoner, I hope you can be strong now

Fall into me
I’ll turn your ashes into flames
I’ll turn your ashes into flames

Prisoner of hope, it won’t be long now
Prisoner, I hope you can be strong now
Prisoner, I hope you carry on now
Prisoner, your love, it can’t be held down
Prisoner of hope, it won’t be long now
Prisoner, I hope you can be strong now
Prisoner, I hope you carry on now
Prisoner, your love, it can’t be held down
Prisoner of hope, can’t be held down
Prisoner of hope, can’t be held down

~ by WriterRand on May 8, 2010.

3 Responses to “Prisoner of Hope”

  1. THANK YOU for sharing this…I thought we knew all their music, but somehow missed this gem. Which CD is it on? The lyrics are inspired…and I can’t wait to share them.

    • I’m an idiot and missed this one the first time around. I think it’s on the EP “Closer” — which came out right before “Good Monsters.” Probably on both.

      • Nope…no idiocy. Only grace, my friend. And I found it quickly by just typing in “Jars of Clay Prisoner of Hope” in Amazon’s MP3 section…I am just thankful you pointed this one that we missed out to us! Soooo good.

Leave a Reply

 
